Spring is here! (just dont look inside)

Spring (and gardening season!!) has finally arrived in Canada. I’m eagerly watching my gardens come back to life. I’m waiting in anticipation of the beauty that is coming – my reward for investing so much time, money and energy into something I love. (I was late to a meeting once because I literally lost time weeding. That’s how much I love it.)

This has gotten me thinking about the seasons of our lives. I spend a lot of time anticipating a future season that will bring beauty and meaning, at the expense of appreciating the season God’s currently walking me through.

Everyone is having babies and buying houses, so my social media feed is filled with prenatal photos and home improvement projects, culminating in a big final reveal. So why is it so difficult to similarly document my journey?

I don’t know about you, but my current season sucks. In my black-and-white, perfectionist mind I am getting a solid F. And rather than silently implode over failure to meet my own entirely unrealistic expectations, I simply try to avoid thinking about it. (How’s this working for me? Terribly. But that’s another post.)

But as I studied my Bible tonight, I was reminded of all the ways God has blessed me, taught me, held me, and walked with me during this season of pain and uncertainty. These things are beautiful too, and I don’t want to miss them.

I know a new beginning is coming. But I’m asking God to give me joy for the wait.

Those who plant in tears will harvest with shouts of joy. They weep as they go to plant their seed, but they sing as they return with the harvest.

Psalms 126:5‭-‬6 NLT

Leave a comment